No NATO Call to Action, Chicago 2012

The Grassroots Global Justice Alliance calls on members to converge on Chicago for the NATO Summit in May, and bring our message of No War! No Warming! Build an Economy for the People and the Planet! 

May 18 – 21, Chicago will host the NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization) summit.  NATO is an intergovernmental military alliance between white western nations to defend one another against nations they regard as threats to their economic interests, as defined by the G8. The G8 – Group of 8 – is a forum of the world’s 8 wealthiest nations.  Over half of the entire world’s wealth is represented by these countries. The G8 will meet at Camp David in Maryland only days before the NATO Summit in Chicago.  Initially scheduled to take place in Chicago, the sudden relocation of the G8 to Maryland can be regarded as a minor victory for the people.  We know, however that members of the ruling elite may run, but they will not be able to hide from those seeking to expose their treachery.

The impact of the decisions and actions of these bodies cripple people’s ability to provide for themselves and their families and deny their ability to govern themselves.  Both the G8 and NATO contribute to the loss of innocent lives through war, starvation, and the installation of brutal regimes throughout the Global South and North.  The social, economic and political costs are staggering – at home and abroad.

We are calling on members to come to Chicago to uplift our local struggles and for us to connect with our local, national and international allies; have a strong and visible presence in the counter-summit and various mobilizations; highlight the cost of war at home and abroad in concrete ways; build upon the GGJ frame – No War! No Warming! Build an Economy for the People and the Planet!

GGJ will... provide a small travel stipend, coordinate lodging and local transportation for GGJ delegates; create and update the calendar of actions/activities; and coordinate with local, national and international allies, supply popular and political education materials in advance for membership preparation.

GGJ expects from its delegates...

  1. One representative per organization participate in the No War working group calls to help develop action plans and political goals;
  2. All delegates participate in 2 phone orientations during which we will go over logistics and orientation to planned activities;
  3. Read the preparation materials and, if possible, conduct/participate in a political education on G8 and NATO with your members;
  4. Attend the face to face orientation in Chicago 1 day before the actions/counter summit (date to be determined);
  5. Represent GGJ and help carry out its political and practical goals in Chicago; and
  6. Help to organize the report back to GGJ membership.

Applications to participate on the delegation will be due on Friday March 27 5:00pm PST/6:00pm MST/7:00pm CST/8:00pm EST.

The No War working group will meet biweekly on Wednesday’s at 11:00am PST/12:00pm MST/1:00pm CST/2:00pm EST. Upcoming meetings are scheduled for March 14, March 28, April 11, April 25, and May 9.

If you have any questions, please contact Ife Kilimanjaro, GGJ Organizer at ifekilimanjaro@gmail.com or 313-978-4681.