Analysis

CALL TO ACTION: THE COP21 PARIS ACCORD FAILED HUMANITY

The COP21 Paris Accord failed humanity, and impacted communities must take things into our own hands and push at all levels of government.

As impacted communities, we are deeply aware of the imperative of the climate crisis.  Our waters are being poisoned from fossil fuel extraction, our livelihoods are threatened by floods and drought, our communities are the hardest hit and the least protected in extreme weather events.  The climate crisis is a reality, but the COP21 Paris Accord is not based on that reality.

MEDIA ADVISORY: It Takes Roots Statement on the Protest Ban in Paris

MEDIA ADVISORY
November 23, 2015

No War, No Warming – Build an Economy for People and Planet

Despite the ban on Protest in Paris, we will be there to raise our voices against war, racism and pollution profiteering. We stand in solidarity with the countless victims of recent violence in Paris, Beirut, and Mali, as well as their families and loved ones.

Tunisia: Another World is Possible, A United Movement is Necessary

Today in Tunis, Tunisia, the site of the upcoming World Social Forum (WSF) 2015 from March 24-28, a horrific situation unfolded in the Bardo Museum, nearby the Parliament building, in which an estimated 21 people (tourists, tunisians and gunmen) were killed and 38 wounded. According to Al Jazeera, authorities in Tunisia are saying the attack is over.  We want to express our sincere condolences to the victims of this attack and their loved ones.

Our ally Souha Ben Othman from the Tunisian Association of Democratic Women shared with us this morning:

People's Climate Activities were Historic... UN Climate Summit, Not So Much.

You probably heard this many times last week, but it’s worth saying again—the People’s Climate March on Sunday September 21, 2014 was a major historic event. It was historic because of the sheer numbers who came out to march (it’s being called the largest climate march in history, with estimates around 400,000 people in the streets of New York City).

Palestine Learning Call / Llamada de Aprendizaje sobre Palestina

This call took place on Monday, August 25 at 9am pacific/ 10am mountain/11am central/ 12noon eastern

Esta llamada se llevó a cabo el Lunes, 25 de agosto a las 9 am pacífico / 10 a.m. montaña / 11 a.m. centro / 12 del mediodía del Este 

Listen the audio of the call here (lo sentimos, solamente pudimos grabar la llamada en inglés, no en español):

Pages