GGJ Conference Call: Report Back on The World People's Conference on Climate Change and the Rights of Mother Earth

The GGJ Global Well Being Working Group Presents:

A Report Back on The World People's Conference on Climate Change and the Rights of Mother Earth

TOMORROW

FRIDAY, JUNE 4, 2010
At 10:00am Pacific/ 11:00am Mountain/ 12:00pm Central/ 1:00pm Eastern time

email jen@ggjalliance.org for call-in information


The purpose of this conference was to provide an alternative platform to what came out of  the UN climate negotiations (COP15)
 in Copenhagen in December 2009. Unlike the United Nations' COP-15, where industrialized countries controlled the dialogue, in Cochabamba
the countries and communities most impacted by climate change took the lead. With the  failure of COP15, and with the approach of the end
 of the first commitment  period of the Kyoto Protocol (which the US never ratified) in 2012, the  leadership of these communities
is critical in determining the future of  climate policy.


The final outcome of the conference is  the Peoples Accord, which you can find on the conference website at http://pwccc.wordpress.com/.
President Evo Morales and 24 other world governments have committed to taking this statement and advocating for it’s positions
pre, post, and at COP16 in Cancun, Mexico in December 2010.



Join delegation members of the GGJ and IEN delegations to Cochabamba, as they share their insights about this historical conference
And what it means for climate change and climate justice work moving forward