¡Vea este vídeo en español!

Mark your calendars for GGJ’s eighth National Membership Assembly, October 5–8, 2022, on Ohlone Territory in Oakland, California!

The GGJ Membership Assembly is the highest decision making body of our alliance, where each grassroots member organization discusses, debates, and ultimately votes to set our next political and program priorities. The Membership Assembly also facilitates resource sharing, popular and political education, healing, and dialogue among member organizations alongside national and international allies.

Prior to each assembly, we engage in a deep consultation process across our membership to craft working proposals for deliberation and approval. Members also elect the Coordinating Committee to oversee and guide our political direction. In October 2022, we’re bringing together more than 200 members from Turtle Island, Puerto Rico, Hawai’i, and Guam, along with international allies from Brazil, Haiti, Nigeria, Palestine, and Turkey to determine our best contribution to the movement in the period ahead.

More information

Participation schedule

Wednesday, October 5, 2022

Plenary: Getting Into Formation (LIVESTREAM)
1:00–2:30 p.m. Alaska / 2:00–3:30 p.m. Pacific / 3:00–4:30 p.m. Mountain / 4:00–5:30 p.m. Central / 5:00–6:30 p.m. Eastern / 7:00–8:30 a.m. Guam
Opening plenary on the political landscape of this moment with perspectives from local, national and international grassroots movements. Register for this livestream!

Plenary: Bridging Our Movements Toward Feminist Abolition (LIVESTREAM)
6:30–7:30 p.m. Alaska / 7:30–8:30 p.m. Pacific / 8:30–9:30 p.m. Mountain / 9:30–10:30 p.m. Central / 10:30–11:30 p.m. Eastern / 12:30–1:30 p.m. Guam
A conversation between leaders of Grassroots Global Justice Alliance (GGJ) and Formerly Incarcerated, Convicted People and Families Movement (FICPFM). Register for this livestream!


Thursday, October 6, 2022

Dream Beyond Bars and Borders Action (STREET ACTION IN OAKLAND, CA)
2:30–6:00 p.m. Pacific
Meet us in Oscar Grant Plaza (also called Frank H. Ogawa Plaza) for a march and action led by two local organizations: Communities United for Restorative Youth Justice (CURYJ) and Mujeres Unidas y Activas (MUA). The action will lift up both organizations’ campaigns around divesting from systems of harm and investing in healing, wellness, and community-controlled grassroots power. This will include a flashmob that we learned from our Chilean feminist friends. We will close with a dinner and rally at the Chinatown Resilience Hub that Asian Pacific Environmental Network (APEN) has fought for and developed over many years.


Friday, October 7, 2022

Plenary: Power and Strategy (LIVESTREAM)
9:00–11:00 a.m. Alaska / 10:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m. Pacific / 11:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m. Mountain / 12:00–2:00 p.m. Central / 1:00–3:00 p.m. Eastern / 3:00–5:00 p.m. Guam
A series of dialogues between the Brazilian popular movement and U.S.-based electoral organizing sectors: Lessons from experiments in contending for governing power, combating the right, and developing political consciousness. Register for this livestream!

For members